The Diatribe * net

One giant collaborative diatribe

Cool Jesus

Scammy Scam

Okay, so I’m officially done with roommates.com.  I found a new message in my in-box this morning and my hopes were high.  Afterall, it is almost September 1 and we’re still in need of a roommate.  The initial message from Janet Lauren was brief and credible, so I emailed her.  This gibberish below then found its way into my email.  She must be related to the Australian freak from yesterday.  Just read on…

From: janet lauren <janet_lauren@iwillrobyou.com>
To: Cool Jesus <Cool Jesus@gmail.com>
Date: Aug 24, 2005 2:31 PM
Subject: Response
Reply | Reply to all | Forward | Print | Add sender to Contacts list | Trash this message | Report phishing | Show original
I got your message Brian I will like you to send me some pictures of the house and the total move in cuz right now i am out of country I am in Ireland Dublin I came to see mom she was involved in an auto accident so it affected her brain.. I tried calling your number but i could not get through maybe due to distance or whatever. I am planning to move in on the 4th of september and i will be staying there for at least 8 months or more it depends on the environment please kindly get back to me asap.I am into modelling and photography. I have attach one of my picture hope you will like it.
 
Best Regard
Janet
From: Petro <KIR@gmail.com>
To: Cool Jesus <Cool Jesus@gmail.com>
Date: Aug 24, 2005 3:50 PM
Subject: Re: Response
Reply | Reply to all | Forward | Print | Add sender to Contacts list | Trash this message | Report phishing | Show original
Dude, no way this is real…too funny.
From: Cool Jesus <Cool Jesus@gmail.com>
To: Petro <KIR@gmail.com>
Date: Aug 24, 2005 3:38 PM
Subject: Fwd: Response
Reply | Reply to all | Forward | Print | Add sender to Contacts list | Trash this message | Report phishing | Show original
Dude, I don’t even know if these are for real anymore.  Why would I
care what she looks like?  Why is she sending me a photo and telling me she’s into modeling and photography?  What should I do?

Post Metadata

Date
August 24th, 2005

Author
Cool Jesus

Category

Tags


1 Comments

  1. Unregistered

    zip-it

    Coincidently I received that sort of email where the person was in UK because her mum got in an accident and had brain problems. She was also a model too, so must be hot.

    I still have my profile up in roommates.com. All of the email I have received have been from scammers. Its real easy to notice it.
    Maybe its from people on the inside, you know, roommates.com phishing you into paying to read the emails. I fell for it the first time. Wont fall for it again.


Leave a Reply